RSS

“Concedetemi voi l’attenuante!”

29 Mar

And I was doing so well, posting almost every day – best intentions and all that…

I’ve had a rather busy time. First, there was a big concert with Bromley Symphony last weekend – Mahler 9: quite an occasion. It was interesting that two of my guests, neither of whom is particularly knowledgeable about music, independently told me afterwards that they liked the final adagio movement most of all. As for me, it just makes me cry.

I had to hire three bass bells for the performance (from Bell Percussion in Acton). That meant two return trips on Friday and Monday mornings to collect and return – in all about seven hours travelling, time I could have spend rather more usefully packing boxes and shifting things, as the other big event since I last posted was the sale of my shop (at long last). I thought I’d be more emotional about saying goodbye to the place I’ve spent a lot of the past 26 years, but apart from a teary moment in the deli when I picked up my last lunchtime panino, I’ve felt rather detached. There’s still a lot of unpacking to be done, and I have to get used to a new way of working (from home),  so perhaps I’m just too busy to think about it.

And finally… bonus points to the first person to identify the operatic quotation that heads this entry!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 29 March 2009 in Music, My Life

 

6 responses to ““Concedetemi voi l’attenuante!”

  1. Donna

    30 March 2009 at 10:45

    No idea on the operatic quotation, but I’d venture a guess it was written by Verdi :P. Making a big change in life is always difficult, but it seems that most of the time, it turns out to be for the better. Good luck to you David.

    (Aren’t you proud of me? I have capitalized and punctuated! I believe i have no misspellings as well.)

     
    • kingouf

      30 March 2009 at 17:04

      You’re a treasure! However, no bonus points! 😛

       
  2. tom.shiels

    3 April 2009 at 10:10

    Sir… regarding your comments about your guests at the Bromley Mahler concert ”neither of whom is PARTICULARLY KNOWLEDGABLE about music” …our honour has been slighted, sir – hola! a duel, nothing less. Is it to be swords, pistols or a rolled-up copy of the Sunday Sport (showing the pin-ups – Groucho said that he’d met many pin-up girls but he’d never been able to pin one down)? Regards from the Plumstead Paddy.

     
    • kingouf

      4 April 2009 at 20:49

      Dear me! You weren’t my only guests, you know! And, of course, if there HAS to be a duel, the weapon has to be drumsticks.

       
  3. Janey

    3 April 2009 at 14:03

    Could it be Puccini’s Gianni Schicchi?

    Looking forward to Sunday?

    J
    xx

     
    • kingouf

      4 April 2009 at 17:24

      Janey gets the points. And the end of that opera also makes me cry…

       

Leave a Reply

 
